Memories and Old Stuff

Picture of Biberach. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Picture of Biberach. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Do you know this feeling? You have decided to declutter your home (it is spring, isn’t it) and you found a picture stuffed somewhere in the closet / drawer. It belongs to a certain period of your life which is over now. So you decide to throw it away. Before doing that you pick it up and have a look at it.

And then, suddenly, all the memories come back. And there are a lot of memories connected with that tiny little picture. You can’t throw your memories away, can you?

It happenend to me with the picture above. It is a drawing of my birthtown, Biberach, which is situated in the south of Germany, near Lake Constance. I lived there until the age of 5 and then our family moved to another town. It has got a historical marketplace, and every summer there is a big fair with historical parades, called the “Biberacher Schützenfest”.

Looking at that tiny picture all that came back in my mind. What could I do? No, I was sure that I didn’t want to hang it up on the wall. It had no place in my life as it is now. But what to do with my memories? I was just thinking of putting it back where it had been all the months when I got an idea: I would take my camera and take a picture of it. I would then upload this picture to my flickr account. There it would be – ready for looking at it whenever I wanted to do that.

As you can see, I put my idea into practice. My memories are safe now – and the old stuff can go away.

How do you deal with old stuff which has a lot of memories for you?

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

7 responses to “Memories and Old Stuff”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, You’re on to something here. We have a very cluttered home because we have so much trouble throwing things away. Maybe this is an answer. You’ve got a very nice picture, though. Have you thought about selling it or donating it?

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Brad,
      actually the picture looks much nicer on the photo than in reality. So it is not a picture to sell or to donate. The reason I kept it was that it held so many memories – which are now connected with the photo.

  2. Luke Gedeon says :

    We started photo-archiving a lot of our memories a few years ago and donating (or trashing in some cases) all of our “stuff”. It has definitely help us declutter.

  3. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, I love the picture and love it more for the good memories it holds for you. That was a brilliant solution. I try to cleanse frequently so that I am always making room for new stuff but have also been guilty of looking at things, reliving the memories and then hanging on to it! For those things I wait until I am in a letting go mood, unemotional and then get rid of it.

  4. Paul C says :

    What a wonderful idea to take a picture of your endearing jetsam and flotsam before throwing it away. Fortunately we have a rather large, dry basement to store endearing artifacts.

  5. Urban Panther says :

    OH! I lived in Konstanz for 3 months! It was absolutely beautiful. I spent a lot of time in Meersburg just wandering the streets as well.

Leave a comment