Water Buffalo – slow but steady!

Water bufffalo. Drawing and Photo: Ulla Hennig

Water bufffalo. Drawing and Photo: Ulla Hennig

The home of the water buffalo is Asia. It is valuable for its meat and milk as well as the labour it performs, drawing the plough through the muddy paddy fields for example. There’s nothing hectic or even quick in their movements – they are trodding on slowly, but constantly. And thus, they are getting a lot of work done.

Sometimes, when my to-do list is getting longer and longer, I let myself become hectic, trying to do more things by doing things faster. Fact is, that doesn’t work (at least not for me): I am making mistakes, forget things and I end up by feeling exhausted. Then I think of the water buffalo and return to slow but steady working.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “Water Buffalo – slow but steady!”

  1. Paloma Chaffinch says :

    What a lovely image Ulla. In future, when I get hectic trying to do too many things at once like you, I’ll slip your image of the water buffalo into my head and slow down.

  2. Ralph says :

    Perfect, Ulla! I couldn´t do that, with two left hands and five thumbs on each of them! And I can see its message. As Mahatma Ghandi put it: There´s more to life than constantly increasing its speed.

  3. Patricia says :

    Very nice drawing and writing. Thank you and I do need to water buffalo myself right now.

  4. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, the drawing and the sentiment are beautiful. I love the image of the strong animal moving slowly but constantly. I think we have all fallen victim to the speed trap but it is then we lose our power, we fragment our strength by trying to move too fast in multiple directions. Slow but constant is a good image to hold onto as we go about our day.

  5. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    What a fantastic drawing! You really captured the essence very well indeed.

Leave a Reply

