Lilacs

Lilac. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Lilac. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Since a few days Berlin is full of them – deep purple lilacs, light purple lilacs. There are also white lilacs, but actually I haven’t been seeing a lot of them up to now. By the way: Did you know that only from the middle of the 19th century on lilacs are grown in gardens? I could not imagine Berlin without them!

Lilacs (or syringa) are the symbols of young, romantic love – and they bloom from the end of April till the end of May, with May being the month of romantic love as well.

What typical spring flowers do you have in your part of the world? And which of them do you like most? Let’s talk!

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

7 responses to “Lilacs”

  1. Betsy Wuebker says :

    Oh, I so love lilacs. Would we love them less if their bloom wasn’t so brief? Perhaps. My wedding flowers three years ago were lilacs, peony and bridal veil spirea. They were so beautiful. Our lilacs have yet to bloom in Minnesota – another three weeks, just in time for our anniversary! Beautiful photo, Ulla, very inspiring.

  2. Wendee says :

    Hi Ulla! Lilacs are so lovely – their scent is so sweet and dreamy! Here in Southern California, we have lots of the California (of course) Poppy. They’re along the freeway, in gardens, on the mountain sides, everywhere. I don’t know if I’m travelling on different roads this year or not visiting as many gardens, but I don’t seem to be noticing as many poppies as I did last year 😦

    So, your post was a good excuse to go through my photos:
    100_2223_

  3. Meg says :

    These are just beautiful.

  4. Paul C says :

    On our yard in Ontario the daffodils are making way for the glorious tulips. We like grouping them in clusters of about ten for a dramatic show. One clump began as bright yellow but are now turning a a rosy orange. They glow in the sunshine.

  5. Ulla Hennig says :

    It’s great to read about your favourite flowers! Tulips have arrived here as well, in all kinds of colours. To look at them is a joy for the eyes – and the mind as well!

  6. Patricia says :

    Our lilacs are just opening and on sunny days they are so fragrant. We planted a number of flowers and peas, lettuce this weekend on our sunny day. I hope we will have a blooming good summer this year – last year was so wet and cold…

    Lovely picture and story of your flowers and sights. Thank you.

  7. Janet says :

    Mmm, I can smell those lilacs just from looking at the photo.

    In California, I’m loving the irisis, and rhododendrons. There must be wisteria around, too, but you have to know where to look. (Beautiful fragrance.)

Leave a comment