Arabian Beauty

Arabian Horse. Charcoal Drawing and Photo: Ulla Hennig

Arabian Horse. Charcoal Drawing and Photo: Ulla Hennig

I love horses. I always did.

There was a stud near my hometown in the south of Germany. I remember going there with my father, who loved horses, too. We went there in spring, when the horses were allowed to leave the stable and go on the pastures. We stood there, waiting for the herd of horses galloping by. You could feel their joy of running free.

There were also some Arabian stallions in the stud, and I loved their beauty – the mixture of strenght and elegance. Some of this beauty I tried to catch in the drawing above.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

9 responses to “Arabian Beauty”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    And so you have Ulla – strength and elegance. Great job.

  2. Dianne Murphy-Rodgers says :

    Ulla, I agree with Joanna … you have definitely captured the beauty of this noble creature! What a wonderful talent! :o)

  3. Terry Heath says :

    This reminds me of when I was in grade school. I loved horses, but lived in town. So I couldn’t have one. So I drew them, one after the other, my herd of horses. Sometimes I would stay in at recess and teach some of the other kids how to draw them; I’m not sure if they had the same feeling, that of trying to own a horse they could never have or if they just saw something in the drawings they wanted too. Maybe it was the passion, the thing that attracts us to real art and the reason we want it even if we don’t want the thing it represents.

    Keep gathering your horses!

  4. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Wow, you drew that? It’s incredibly good!

    Thanks for sharing,

    Barbara

  5. Isabel Joely Black says :

    A very beautiful drawing!

  6. Patricia says :

    I have always had lovely friend who drew horses, not to mention all of my friends who wanted a horse in their youth.

    Very nice work – you capture it’s beauty and strength well.

    Thank you

  7. James says :

    This is in fact a drawing by Don Schwartz. A very nice try though copying it though.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      James,
      I live in Berlin, Germany, and the name of Don Schwartz was up to now unknown to me. I did this charcoal drawing after a photo I had, not after the drawing of Don Schwartz.

Leave a comment