In the Morning of my Life

Do you know this: you listen to the music of the time when you were young and you suddenly remember – the wild parties, the trouble you had with some teachers, your girl friend leaving the room with the good looking boy whom you never would have dared to talk to.

“In the Morning of my Life”, a song from the year 1967, remembers me of a trip to Munich in 1969 with our class, sitting on the steps of the boarding house and listening to Esther and Abi Ofarim. Somebody had brought a record player with him, and somebody else some records. We sat there, listened to “our” music and felt like lonely rebels. I was 16 then…

At that time it was the clear voice of Esther Ofarim which made me love that song. Today it reminds me of the “morning of my life”.

Which are the songs of your “Morning of your life”?

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

16 responses to “In the Morning of my Life”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, what a sweet post, and I know what you mean about songs and music throwing us back to other times.

    I firmly believe though that we have lots of mornings in our lives, and time for many wondrous seasons πŸ™‚

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, It’s amazing now music brings back such specific memories. In ’68/’69 I’d listen to The Beatles – The White Album and Sergeant Pepper – over and over. Later, in high school, it was Elton John. College: Neil Young, The Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen. When I hear any of that music it takes me back vividly.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Brad,
      it’s funny but I preferred the Rolling Stones for a long time – now I am a fan of the Beatles. Elton John, Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen – oh well, I know them all! And I still like to listen to them.

  3. Isabel Joely Black says :

    Scary. I was brought up in the 80s but I too was a fan of the Beatles, the Moody Blues and the Rolling Stones.

    Oh yes, and I have a special place in my heart for Bob Dylan.

  4. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, thanks for bringing back such sweet memories. As a teen I fluctuated wildly in my musical tastes (still do) but music from that generation brings me right back to wonderful mornings or moments. I can remember feeling invincible and can laugh now over all the things I thought were so serious. I loved everything from Mozart to Parliament Funkadelic so lots of memories. πŸ™‚

  5. Ulla Hennig says :

    I just noticed that I made a big mistake in not embedding the youtube – video – so you could not see it. Well, thanks for your kind comments, though! If anybody of you would like to come back and watch the video, you are very welcomed to do so. Stupid me!

  6. Patricia says :

    Ulla,
    I could see and listen to the video…Thank you – it was a joy on my morning!

  7. Barbara Swafford says :

    Hi Ulla – Thank you for sharing the music from your past. The video worked perfect. I’ve never heard that song before but can understand why it was a favorite.

    I love the part where you wrote, “We sat there, listened to β€œour” music and felt like lonely rebels”. Life was so simple then, wasn’t it?

    Old songs always take me back to the old days and good memories. πŸ™‚

  8. Janice Cartier says :

    I went searching for Dylan’s Forever Young on utube thinking to link it here and found the Superbowl commercial that Pepsi made with it which I adore. Not because I like commercials, Pepsi, or the Superbowl, but because they did something that I love to see… that timeless connection that music makes with spirit and ideas across generations. So in some ways our best music is music that can pinpoint a moment, but also pinpoint universal moments. And I have always loved his thought behind this one in particular.

    Thanks for the song above, and sharing an Ulla moment. It made me smile and imagine a lovely morning.

    Makes me want a lovely morning on some steps somewhere with friends… just to stop and be.

  9. Preston Surface says :

    Songs back then had melodies along with feelings which sunk deep within the recesses of our souls. Today’s songs do not have melody, nothing you can whistle to or even think about. This was the first time I ever heard “Morning of my Life,” and I love it.

  10. Raksha says :

    Ulla, you solved a puzzle for me! I was looking for the song, an old favorite of mine from 1968, and all I could find online was the Bee Gees’ recording. But it was that heavenly voice I was looking for, and thanks to you I now know it was Esther’s!

    Here are some other favorite songs from those days:
    “Angel of the Morning,” with Merrilee Rush
    “Yes the River Knows” by The Doors
    “All Along the Watchtower,” not the Hendrix version, but Dylan himself.

    Thanks for the blogpost from last year!

Leave a Reply

