8 Things I am up to

After having read Joanna Young’s blog post about the 8 things she is up to I first thought “My list will never comprise 8 things”. I sat down, took a pen in my hand and began to write.

When I was finished I had 8 things and I want to share them with you:

  1. I am writing a book review for the Joyful JubilantLearning Blog. I don’t want to go into detail here, because I want you to read it – so keep watching the JJL  Blog. Besides you can find exciting book reviews there every day in March.
  2. I never did a book review in my life, so this is quite hard work, and takes some of my free time.

  3. I found out that I have to balance work, blogging and the world outside the internet. There are times at work when I can do some blog reading or looking at my wordpress stats, but writing blog posts must be done in my free time after work. But this free time is also important for meeting friends, taking walks and shooting pictures, and – doing the necessary household chores. There is a world outside the internet for me. On the other hand I also want to improve the quality of my blog. So I will have to do some thinking on how to get balanced.
  4. Since February I have been putting up a monthly schedule of blog posts – doing the planning of posts at the beginning of the month. I use the “schedule” tool of WordPress which enables me to write blog posts when I have got the time to do it. However I found out that there must be also room for spontaneous posts (like this one, actually). How much can and should be planned? I’ve got to find that out.
  5. I wrote the text for my “about” page more than a year ago. My blog has evolved since that time – I’ve got to adjust my “about” page.
  6. Ulla Hennig’s Weblog now has a mixture of photos, drawings, music-videos and even short stories. Is this the proper mixture? Too less photos? Too many music videos? Should I write more? I’ve got to find that out.
  7. Regarding photos: Up to now I went on a walk and maybe had the camera with me; I haven’t been on planned photo trips yet – bridges, parks, city life, the different districts. That would mean a lot more planning – do I want that?
  8. Up to now I neglected SEO regarding  internal linking. I will go through my blog posts during the coming weeks and insert internal links.
  9. I haven’t always assigned tags and categories – something which also makes it easier to find my blog posts. I will go through my blog posts and add them.

Well, there’s a lot of work which waits to be done…

Whoever reads this blog post can consider himself to be tagged: Think of 8 things you are up to!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

17 responses to “8 Things I am up to”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Hi Ulla, thanks for sharing your 8 things! It sounds like quite a lot of work planned, and I hope you don’t do too much that it starts to make the blog feel like a duty. For example I might suggest you do tags and internal linking from now on rather than going backwards. I don’t know about you but I find going back and checking / editing old posts v dull!

    Re the mix here – I love the mix. If I had a slight preference it would be if you could add maybe a few more sentences about why a picture, song , place etc is important to you or how it makes you feel. I know when you do that I’m much more likely to comment, otherwise I might just skip over it.

    Of course you mght not always want comments – they’re also work to keep on top of!

  2. Ulla Hennig says :

    Joanna,
    thanks so much for this very helpful comment.
    Can you like duties? Well, I have the impression that the blog for me is a duty, but one I like to do.
    Re internal linking: I’ll try to confine myself to some of the old posts I really like (I’ve got some ideas which those could be)
    Re the mix: I had that impression, too. I definitely like to get comments, and adding a few more sentences could make people comment more.

  3. Isabel Joely Black says :

    I agree with Joanna – and blogs are always a work in progress, they’re a wonderful space to grow and develop.

    I’m excited to see more of your photos in the future…

  4. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, You have been busy! I am probably the wrong person to answer your question about your mix of materials, because I love it all. The mixture, the not knowing what you’re posting about today, is very appealing. I really enjoy your photos that are accompanied by a brief historical background and/or reflection.

  5. bunchy says :

    Hey, thanks for visiting my blog. I was once a pretty popular blogger…and I was addicted. Writing constantly, checking my stats hourly, and kind of obsessed. Then I sat back and realized it was becoming pressure. Blog without obligation…blog because you love it, not because of the numbers. It will pay off. Hope to see you again! 🙂

  6. Terry Heath says :

    Ulla,

    It’s interesting how most of these comments focus on your question about the mix. I think what’s most important in finding the perfect combination is that it’s perfect for you and your purpose for blogging.

    I love blogs with variety like yours. If it happens to lean in one direction or another that’s natural because we as human beings are not symmetric in the way we pursue our interests.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Terry,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. I am glad you like the mix. I myself like it, too, but was not sure about my readership. Now I am.

  7. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla, thanks for sharing your list. Finding the balance, for me personally is always a work in progress. There are times when I am very focused and easily accomplish work things but lose the rhythm in other areas of my life. Don’t be afraid to experiment with your schedule, plans and approach. You have to find what feels right for you and realize that what is right today may change next month. I like the topic mix on your blog and I imagine it makes it fun for you too to be able to have a variety.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Karen,

      I like your sentence “Finding the balance… is always a work in progress”. I think that is very important, to look upon it as an on-going process.
      It really seems that most of my readership like the mix – I do it myself, but now I am encouraged to keep it on. Thanks for that encouragement!

  8. Patricia says :

    Ulla,
    I lost all my reader page and was so happy to remember you were on twitter so I could reconnect. Like your list, it is quite a bit of work to keep a blog going isn’t it.

    Interesting too and glad to know about your thoughtful changes.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Patricia,

      Glad you found me on twitter – I would not like to lose you as one my regular readers.
      Yes, it is a bit of work to keep a blog going – but a pleasant kind of work, at least for me.

  9. Wendee says :

    Hi Ulla – I enjoy whatever you are sharing, and will enjoy whatever mix of things you choose to include. It’s quite a nice window into your life and your thoughts.

    Thank you for sharing your list! You’ve inspired me to get back to my keyboard and share my own! 🙂

  10. Count Sneaky says :

    Ah! My dear, feel free to drop by and see me any time you have a spare moment. The Count is old and retired, so his only work is to try and brighten someone’s day . You certainly do not have to worry about your command of English; I thought at first that you were English, or at least American like the Count. I have tried to complete my list of 8 things to do. Unfortunately, my #1 thing was to resist the temptation to do the other seven! My best.
    Count Sneaky

Leave a comment