Abstract shapes

Abstract. Watercolour paints on watercolour paper.

This time I experimented with glazes and ink. When doing this I noticed that on the one hand I admire that kind of softness and transparency on other artists’ paintings (there are some wonderful watercolour artists who do illustrations for children’s books or fairy tales), but it seems to be not really my cup of tea, not the way I want to paint.

For a long time I had been thinking that colours are not “my thing” – and then I discovered the beauty of vivid colours brought onto the paper by markers, coloured pencils and markers, or gouache. Whenever I’d read the expression “sling paint” I’d not been able to apply that to my person. On the weekend however I grabbed my acrylic paints, put the paint on the palette and deeply enjoyed mixing them and “slinging the paint”.

So this piece above is the last piece of the watercolour series – bye to watercolour and hello to acrylics!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a comment