The Beating of the Drums

Afrikan drums. Photo: brixn75, Flickr

African drums. Photo: brixn75, Flickr

I hear the drums in the distance
The sound of another country
Strange, but inviting.

Drums of all kinds and sizes
and sounds
Making my body wanting to move.

The beat goes on without mercy
My feet are dancing
heart beat and drum beat are one.

My mind is on holiday
there’s just my body
listening to the beating of the drums.

Just now, the carnival of the cultures is being celebrated in Berlin. Yesterday, I spent some time listening to music from all over the world and with the poem I try to catch the atmosphere.

Click on the photo and you will get to brixn75’s photostream on flickr – photos worthwhile looking at!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

7 responses to “The Beating of the Drums”

  1. Alina Popescu says :

    Beautiful poetry to illustrate such an amazing cultural event! hope you share more photos and thoughts on it 🙂

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Your poem is wonderful – thank you for sharing it. I can feel the drums!

  3. Ulla Hennig says :

    Thanks so much, Alina and Brad. It was a rather spontaneous piece of work, and I am glad that you like it!

  4. Emma Newman says :

    Well, thank goodness for courage pills ;o)

    I love this. Elegant, wistful, evocative. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  5. Ulla Hennig says :

    Emma,
    thanks so much! I am blushing all over!

  6. Olivia says :

    I like it too. I think you are brave to share, as well!

  7. Fred H Schlegel says :

    Very nice Ulla. I love reading poetry, but writing it escapes me. Thank you for sharing the experience of the drums.

Leave a comment