Animal in Town: The Beech Marten

Ulla Hennig

Beech Marten. Pastels: Ulla Hennig; Photo: Ulla Hennig

You don’t need to leave the city in order to get in contact with wild animals. In Berlin you have foxes crossing the streets, wild boars happily digging away in your front garden, and – beech martens.

If you want to drive away with your car one morning, and nothing happens – well it could have been a beech marten having bitten off the ignition lead. They also like to brake hoses. Nobody knows why, but they love to do it.

They can be a pest. But on the other hand: Isn’t it fascinating to watch wild animals coming into town?

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

6 responses to “Animal in Town: The Beech Marten”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    What a lovely sketch Ulla. We don’t have beech martens here as far as I know. There are pine martens in the highlands but they’re very rare, and I’ve never seen one (yet)

  2. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, I love your sketch and am so glad that you are sharing your many artistic talents with us. We don’t have beech martens here but I’m always amused by the foxes, deer and other wildlife that wander into the neighborhood. It reminds me that they were here first and we must find a way to peacefully coexist with them and not to endanger their habitat.

  3. Hans says :

    just beautiful Ulla, i certainly love your sketch

  4. Ulla Hennig says :

    Joanna,
    I am glad you like the sketch! I’ve never seen one myself, but I heard stories about them having bitten off ignition leads. And I heard stories about humans trying to frighten them off.

    Karen,
    Thanks, Karen! Glad you like the sketch. “to peacefully coexist with them” – yes, definitely that’s one thing. But also to learn what we as humans should not do. For example here in Berlin a lot of people feed doves – which is not allowed. Or they try to feed foxes – which is dangerous, because foxes should not learn to depend on man in order to make their living.

    Hans,
    thanks for stopping by. I am happy that you like the sketch!

  5. Janice Cartier says :

    Ulla,
    Beautiful sketch. I came round to nibble at your lovely thoughts and see what you’ve been up to. So I feel kind of like that beech martin.. totally satisfied with tasty treats. Thanks for putting them out there. 😉

  6. Ulla Hennig says :

    Janice,
    thanks so much for your comment! It is wonderful to have you here as a guest, and I hope I have many tasty treats for you in the future!

Leave a comment