The Blogger as an Artist?

Ulla Hennig

Landscape. Drawing in Pastel / Photo: Ulla Hennig

After half a year of writing and 60 posts I have convinced myself – I am a writer. Actually I have first been convinced by my virtual blogging friends and then I’ve convinced myself. I write – so I am a writer.

But what about being an artist? I like to draw with pastels, and people tell me, that the results are not too bad. But does that make me an artist? What is an artist? Somebody who lives from his art works? Somebody who has exhibitions in the great galleries? Can somebody like me who works from 9 to five be an artist?

I would like to read your opinions on that. Let’s talk!

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

15 responses to “The Blogger as an Artist?”

  1. Robert Hruzek says :

    Why should the answer to that be any different than “Are you a writer?” You’ve already answered one question. Now consider the other!

    Cheers!

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Very good question! My first reaction is, an artist is anyone with the heart of an artist. Someone with the urge to express ideas and feelings. Someone who sees connections between things and sees small things in a larger context. Whether you paint all day long or occasionally, I think you are still an artist. For many years I barely wrote at all due to my job. Deep down I still considered myself a writer.

    And your painting is magnificent!

  3. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, this is such a good question. I don’t know what my answer would be… I’m going to keep on thinking about it.

  4. morag lloyds says :

    An artist is someone who creates………music, art, food, clothes, a creative soul

  5. Jamie Grove - How Not To Write says :

    An artist sees the world through the heart and shares that vision through the medium of the mind.

    Thanks for making me say that! 🙂

  6. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, it is good question that seems easy to answer at first blush but has so many layers. If we separate art as profession from artist the answer is different. Creative intelligence is not limited to “art.” I worked for a clinical laboratory for 7 1/2 years and in the medical profession for 20. I can honestly say in working with scientists and laboratorians what they do is scientific but also artistic. There are those who possess a greater depth of creative intelligence but I do not think that restricts how we see ourselves. I am not a best selling novelist but I am a writer.

  7. art-shkola says :

    Wonderful! You are a talent!
    ¡bravo!

  8. Wendi Kelly-Life's Little Inspirations says :

    Did you do that Landscape Pastel?

    The one in the picture?

    If the answer is yes, then, you never have to ask yourself that question ever again. You are an artist.

    Not only does it look good, it evokes an emotion. It draws the viewer in and makes you want to enter it, take a walk on the beach, relax, or go for a swim.

    To me, an artist, no matter what the medium may be, is a person who takes their creativity and the emotion that they feel and they find a way to express it it through a medium and cause another person to feel an emotion and share an experience. You are very good at that. Through your words, through your photography and now also through your paintings.

    Ulla, I encourage you…stop asking for permision to claim that title, it already belongs to you in so many ways!!!Embrace it and hold it close in all of the ways that you can. Express it and soar!!!!!

  9. Ulla Hennig says :

    Thank you all for your comments! And you, Wendi, for your encouragement which is so important for me. It shows me again how wonderful it is to be part of the blogging world! Thanks again!

  10. Andrew says :

    Ulla,

    Generally speaking, I feel that the creation of art is about the expression of ideas, feelings or emotions through a wide range of mediums, which include, but are certainly not limited to: drawings; paintings; poems; songs; compositions, sculptures or theatrical performances.

    I feel that an artist is someone who creates works of art on a periodic or regular basis.

    With respect to your nine till five comment, I think it is important to draw a distinction between professional artists and amateur artists. Contrary to popular perception, this distinction does not relate at all to the quality of the artwork, but rather to the question of whether or not the artist concerned attempts to derive income as a result of his or her work.

    In this context, a professional artist attempts to derive an income from his or her creations. An amateur artist, in contrast, creates a works of art on a regular basis, but considers his or her work to be primarily a leisure pursuit.

    Accordingly, if you do not derive an income from your work, then I feel that you could still consider yourself an artist provided that your drawings are created in a deliberate fashion on a regular and consistent basis.

    Being a relative newcomer to your blog, I cannot comment on whether your drawings are sufficiently frequent in order to consider yourself to be an artist.

    All I can say is that the drawing does represent a very high standard of work.

  11. Ulla Hennig says :

    Andrew,
    thanks for coming and commenting. I admit, my drawing are not sufficiently frequent. This drawing also was created more than five years ago. But looking at it made me think that I should start again with drawing.

  12. Janice Cartier says :

    Ulla,
    Ahhh, the eternal question…living a creative life, that is a bit of an art. Being an artist is like knowing where your sensitivities lie, trusting them, and building on them no matter what form they take.
    Perhaps I’ll organize one of those “artists” retreats. Your name would be right there on that invitation list for sure.

  13. Preston Surface says :

    I think an artist of any type is one who has the need to express themselves. Just because the painting can’t be sold nor the book published doesn’t make one a lesser artist. The real joy comes from simply expressing. You are very good, yes you are.

  14. Ulla Hennig says :

    Preston,
    you make me blush! And your definition of “artist” is really interesting. Thanks!

Leave a comment