Friendly Waters

Hirtshals Harbour, Denmark

Hirtshals Harbour, Denmark

Last year, during my holidays in Denmark, I loved to sit and watch the harbour. Not only the harbour, where the big ferries from Norway or Sweden arrived and set off again, but also the marina with their sailing boats in all sizes. There is always some activity, somebody cleaning the boat, or bathing in the sun.

I also loved to see the contrast between the quiet water in the harbour and the white crests of the waves outside it. I admired each sailor leaving the harbour, boldly ploughing through the water crests, setting off for some far away country.

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

11 responses to “Friendly Waters”

  1. Wendi Kelly-Life's Little Inspirations says :

    What a great picture! That would make an amazing oil painting. I can see why it would evoke such a lovely memory.

  2. Patricia says :

    Ulla,
    I think the picture is lovely and I do so love watching the boats and ferries; it is calming. The the clouds are just drifting across the top as though we need to watch the water, and boats and our dreams will float before us. I just feel calm as I study it. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Urban Panther says :

    Even better yet, sitting on the boat and watching the world go by from that vantage point. There is nothing like it in the world. Beautiful picture. What a perfect day.

  4. Steph says :

    This looks lovely. I really like the clouds in it, and the colours. I imagine it a nice place to picnic or drink a coffee or tea. 🙂

  5. Friar says :

    This photo would go well Otis Redding’s lyrics:

    Sittin’ in the mornin’ sun
    I’ll be sittin’ when the evenin’ come
    Watching the ships roll in
    And then I watch ’em roll away again, yeah

    I’m sittin’ on the dock of the bay
    Watching the tide roll away
    Ooo, I’m just sittin’ on the dock of the bay
    Wastin’ time

  6. Evelyn Lim says :

    What a lovely picture! I used to go boating and while waiting at the marina, I pretty much enjoyed watching the various boats dock and setting off again! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Barbara Swafford says :

    Hi Ulla,

    What a beautiful picture. I can imagine sitting there, watching the boats and listening to all of the sounds.

  8. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla,

    The picture is so beautiful it looks as though it were painted. Water always has a calming effect on me, even a photograph of water can calm my jankled nerves. This is such a beautiful, serene scene. Thanks for providing the mini-vacation via computer!

  9. Janice Cartier says :

    I like like this quote from the Wind in the Willows:

    “Believe me, my young friend, there is NOTHING–absolutely nothing–half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.”

    Some of my best and most favorite moments…sigh.

    Thanks for sharing this photo. It’s a breath of fresh air for a Monday morning . 😉

  10. Joanna says :

    Ulla, like others I enjoyed this photo and the feeling it evokes. Makes me think of good places online to relax, watch the world go by and enjoy some good conversation 🙂

Leave a comment