Keep on Trying

This picture is has been created accidentally. I’ve got a black ceramic cat in my flats, and I decided to try out the makro function of my camera. The results were – ahem – more than bad. You could see nothing than a black form standing before a somewhat whiteish background. Half an hour of working on it with Photoshop didn’t do anything good. So I decided to call it a day and to throw all the pics into the wastebin. But then I stopped. Maybe a last try with those beautiful layer masks and layer styles? The next ten minutes you could be see clicking wildly around – and this is the result! (Don’t ask me how I did it – I don’t remember!)

And this is, what I learned: Even when you think you have tried everything – there might be a last possibility, a last way. Try it!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

8 responses to “Keep on Trying”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Your cat is a powerful image, a little nightmarish perhaps. The blurriness gives it a dreamy quality that (paradoxically) makes the cat seem real.

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    An excellent illustration of your lesson leared, Ulla. I agree with Brad – it’s not a calm image, but powerful nonetheless. Just keep it out of my dreams!

  3. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, a great lesson that so often we look for “the” result that we miss what the process teaches us. You sought one image but the gift was actually in your mistake. I’m glad you did not throw it away!

  4. Ricardo Bueno says :

    See…persistence does work!

    I actually rather like this photo (and I’m not just saying that to be flattering)…it’s artistic in it’s own way 😛

  5. Kozer says :

    Стопудово!

  6. Jean Browman--Cheerful Monk says :

    I can happily spend hours playing with Photoshop seeing what happens. I call it slipping into sacred space because it immerses me in the moment.

  7. Jean Browman--Cheerful Monk says :

    PS I’m going to have to try some of those layer styles. 🙂

  8. Gerald says :

    This kind of thing is known as serendipity – and also shows that even pictures we think are total rejects can be a source for something else – and I only stumbled on your blog after you’d commented on Jackie’s Glasgow DP

Leave a comment