Wild

This acrylic painting is the first “big” painting – big meaning it’s on a sheet of DIN A 4 watercolour paper. In the middle of the painting process I felt tempted to stop and throw the thing into the bin, but knowing that is a stage which has to be stepped through I carried on till the end. The good thing with acrylic paints is that you can do changes on the painting. It is another painting focussing on reds and greens. The funny thing is whenever I plan to paint with other hues I finally end up using reds and greens. Hmph. This time I not only mixed my greens with yellow ochre, white or yellow, but I also mixed them with reds, getting some very dark reds.

The second interesting thing was that I had bought a System 3 tube of Daler&Rowney Hooker’s Green which is quite a dark green. However when I put my first blob of paint on my palette I had the impression that it was more in the direction of emerald green. Maybe that was the reason why it was on sale?

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

