Meat eating Plant

Meat eating Plant. Acrylics on Watercolour paper.

After having had so much practice with my Neocolor II watersoluble wax crayons I felt courageous enough to use my acrylic paints again, in order to get practice with them also. I’m not feeling very confident painting with acrylics, but on the other side I think that things may change eventually when I am using them more and more.

I thought that I should begin in a small format, and the task I gave myself was to work with three colours – crimson, sap green and white. I wanted to mix lighter reds using white, and darker reds, using green as the complimentary colour. I also tried to paint with looser brushstrokes. The only thing I knew about the subject was that it would be abstract, and when I saw something come into existence which looked like a meat eating plant to me I tried to enforce that.

I must admit that I was having fun in the process. Acrylics are a very fast medium (you have to be fast, otherwise your paint dries quicker than you want it to do), and just for now it seems difficult for me to do detailed work. But all in all I feel encouraged to go on painting with Acrylics for a while!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

