Strange fruits

Strange fruits

Another mixed media piece in the whole sense of the word: I used chalk pastels first for the three fruits and diluted them with a wet brush. After having let them dry I went over them with gouache paints in order to give them some depth. The background was done with markers.

I noticed that the diluted chalk pastels still had a bit of a chalky surface – they were not smudgy anymore but the surface felt different than the surface of a gouache or watercolour painting. Also the colours didn’t have that richness I am used to when I painted with gouache paints or drew with markers. However the chalk pastels can be used for first layers, I think,

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

