Red and Green Mandala

Once again the lines were done with inkscape, and then coloured with markers. This time I used waterbased markers (the green circle) and alcohol based markers. As you can see the waterbased markers leave distinct marks on the paper, whereas the marks of the alcohol based markers (for example the red around the green circle) are far less distinct.

I also used coated paper again. It runs nicely through my printer, and the alcohol based markers do not bleed.

When colouring in I was reminded of the so called decorative painting done on closet doors and other furniture. Here in Germany we call that “Bauernmalerei” which means “farmers’ art/painting”. The dominant colours in that way of painting are green and red also.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

