Happy Easter!

Today is Easter Sunday, and for me one of the colours of Easter and Spring is yellow. So I decided to do my own drawing and colouring with the colour yellow which ended in the flower you can see above. It is not a special flower – I must say I am not very good in botanical things – this is the symbol of a spring flower.

After having used markers and fineliners for a while I changed over to my watercolour paints. Some weeks ago I had watched my friend Günter coloring the second book of the “Schermützel” series – a book for small children with the big Schermützel monster being the hero. It is a nice monster who loves children and hates bad people. But I digress. I watched him colouring with watercolour paints for some time and the longer I watched the more I felt inspired to overcome my fear and try them for myself.

Today I did it, and I learnt that I could do it under the condition that I force myself to be patient, putting one layer slowly over the other. I am still not satisfied with the background (I hate backgrounds!), but other than that I feel that it is something to start from.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

