Red Horse

Red Horse. Gouache and markers on watercolour paper. December 2014

I had done this horse as a pencil sketch a long time ago, and now I wanted to try out coloring the sketch with gouache and markers. So I printed out the sketch, put it on my lighttable and transfered the drawing to a DIN4 sheet of watercolour paper.

There were some colours left in my palette, one of them was red. Very carefully I added some drops of water from my brush to the dry paint, and then painted the horse. There was also some green left, and as complimentary colours mixed together result in a kind of grey, I mixed my red and my green together in order to get a darker colour for the shading.

Regarding the mane I first applied a layer of golden yellow with gouache. Then I grabbed all my orange and brown markers – some copics, some not – and did a second layer with markers.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Horse-Tangle | Ulla Hennig's Weblog - January 26, 2015

Leave a Reply

