Portrait

portrait

Portrait

Some time ago I had done a rough sketch of this portrait. I had a look at it and decided to colour it. However, the sketch was a bit smallish, so I made a copy of the image, pasted it into my word processor and enlarged it. This was the first step.

Now I had to clean up the sketch and to transfer it to my watercolour paper. I put my handmade lighttable together and did a very light pencil drawing on the sheet of watercolour paper. I wasn’t yet sure whether I wanted to ink it. I then did the first layer in gouache, using quite a lot of water. This produced a rather watercolour-y effect. For the hair I used the golden yellow which was still on my palette. Then I went through my markers looking for different shades of brown. When the gouache had dried, I applied them, leaving the part at the left top as it was. I must say that I am quite satisfied with the result!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

