Blue Star Mandala

Blue star mandala. Gouache, Colored pencils and markers on watercolour paper. December 2014

It has been a long time since I used my gouache paints. I simply wanted to try out how gouache, coloured pencils and markers got on together. So I coloured my pencil drawing with gouache first, using ultramarine pure in the outer round frame, and ultramarine mixed with white in the inside. I then painted the star, adding less white to the ultramarine than I did inside the round frame, thereby getting a blue which is lighter then the outside frame but darker than the space between the corners of the star. I then grabbed the tube with the lemon yellow and–got a foamy liquid but not a creamy paint. Obviously lying around for such a long time was not so good for the content of the tube. However I managed to get some creamy paint after a while.

When the painting was dry I went over it with my coloured pencils. I had the impression that gouache and coloured pencils doesn’t work as well together as watercolour and coloured pencils do: the surface which you get when the gouache paint has dried is much rougher than that of the dry watercolour. Then I proceeded with markers–and here I noticed that you can blend markers very nicely on top of the gouache surface. So this is something I will continue to play with!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

