Playing with PITT Artist Brush Pens

Abstract nature. PITT Artist Brush pens on drawing cardboard. October 2014

I bought some PITT Artist Big Brush pens quite some time ago, and didn’t really know what to do with them. They are markers filled with Indian ink and water. Some days ago now I got more information about them (accidentally watched a video showing what you can do with them) and yesterday, after having returned from my weekend in Buckow outside Berlin, could not resist the urge to take them out again and play with them. I found out some very interesting facts:

  1. The first thing which is different from alcohol markers like Copics or Shin Han Touch Markers is that they do not bleed. You can use drawing cardboard, which I did.
  2. The second thing is that you can shade by simply adding a second and third layer of the same colour.
  3. The colours are lightfast, whereas with copics and other alcohol markers they are not.
  4. When the ink has dried you cannot dissolve it with water. That means that you can use it as an underpainting for watersoluble media like watercolour pencils.
  5. You can get PITT Artist Brush pens in 60 colours, and the colour palette is the same as with the Faber-Castell Polychromos coloured pencils or the Albrecht-Durer watercolour pencils.

I must say that I’m quite fascinated by that medium, and I am looking forward to experiment with them and play some more!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

