Cute Kitty

Kitty. Watercolour pencils on drawing cardboard. October 2014

I had a rough sketch of this kitty, and wanted to try out my handmade lighttable in order to make a clean sketch out of it and place that on a sheet of drawing cardboard. So I put my two IKEA boxes on one side, my coffee table on the other side and placed a glass pane over them. I used one of my desk lamps as light source under the glass pane – and voila, I had a wonderful light table for the price of 5 Euros (this was the price of the glass pane I got at a charity shop round the corner).

Well, the combination looked as if it could be used as a light table – but did it really work? I fetched the paper with the sketch on it and a sheet of drawing cardboard. I now noticed that even for rough sketches I should use paper with a white backside–I had used a paper which had printed text on the back which now was a bit disturbing. However the tracing of my sketch went quite well, as you can see. I then went over the pencil lines with a staedtler pigment liner which is waterproof, erased the pencil lines and then had fun with my watercolour pencils.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

