Mermaid with Markers – finished

Mermaid. Markers on smooth paper.

There are hundreds of Mermaid drawings on the web, and most of them are copies of the Walt Disney mermaid. The mermaids look cute and girley. When I did the mermaid in Acrylics I was pretty sure that my version of the mermaid would not look cute and girley, and I didn’t want her to look that way also when I did the painting with markers. So I took my lightest green markers for her upper body, painted her hair also in green and made her eyes look quite strange by using red and green.

I still am fascinated by the kind of strokes the markers leave on that very special paper. The disadvantage of the paper is that it tends to stick when the ink hasn’t totally dried. So you have to be careful not to touch it.

 

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

