Mermaid – Work in Progress

Mermaid. Acrylics on Acrylic paper

This is actually the first time that I use a paper the size of DIN A 4. I did it this time because with a smaller size the painting of the mermaid would have been too big a challenge for me.

I actually had a look at various pictures of mermaids, and I used a picture of Disney’s mermaid as a drawing reference, but as you can see, I applied some major changes. I didn’t like the “girley” look, what I had in mind was the queen of the seas, even the goddess of the seas. Blue and gold have been the colours of persons of much importance, and so I chose blue and gold as the main colours.

Regarding the colour of the mermaid’s hair I’m thinking of blue again, but this time a lighter blue. I don’t know yet whether that will work – we’ll have to wait for the outcome.

And I’ve got the drawing on a separate piece of paper. So I can always go for a second painting with different colours!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

