Blue eyed Elf

Blue eyed elf. Gouache on canvas board. Ulla Hennig July 2014

I hadn’t touched my gouache paints for a long time. I had painted some abstract pieces with them, but then somehow lost my interest in them. This happened at a time when I had no idea about my style and what I wanted to paint.

Now I know more about what I want to do: tell stories with my art and /or tell stories and illustrate them. I have been doing some illustrations with coloured pencils and markers, or just with markers. But I had also watched a few videos about artists who used gouache paints for their illustrations.

So I thought why not grab those Gouache tubes and the canvas board I had bought half a year ago (or so) and have a go? I must say that I had a lot of fun doing the Blue eyed Elf. And I’m already working on a second illustration with Gouache paints…

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a comment