Another fantasy creature

Portrait of an elf. Sketch done with pencils and ink. June 2014

I did this on some scrap  paper. Obviously I’m fascinated by fantasy characters – I just love to draw them over and over.

I intend to trace that drawing on my marker paper, using my handmade light table or – a very simple tool – the window pane. The format is DIN A5 again. I think that’s a nice format for marker illustrations. The good thing with having the lineart on an extra sheet of paper is that you can have more than one coloured version.

I don’t know how it is with you, but looking at the drawing makes me looking forward to the colouring process. Do I need more markers? What colour combination will be best? How should I do the background? I wish I could work on it more during the week, but that’s not realistic. I’ll be happy if I get the tracing done the next days, and maybe can show you the first colours on Friday, but I am not sure.

One of the reasons why I am not sure is that I am a soccer fan, and on Thursday the Germans will play against the United States in the FIFA soccer worldcup. The game will begin at 6pm, and depending from the result there might be no time for drawing and painting after the end of the game…

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

