Digital Art Journal with tumblr

I’ve opened a tumblr account many years ago in 2008. Some of my web acquaintances had one, and were very excited. But I never really knew what to do with it. I had this blog, I had flickr.

In the meantime however, tumblr has become the home of many artists. It is so easy to upload images, and often it is just images which are uploaded. So I thought I might as well use tumblr as a kind of digital art journal.

I am just working on a new piece painted with markers. I have used the lineart for two digital pieces, one of which you can see here, and I now want to do a “traditional art” piece (Some people may doubt, whether you can describe a marker painting as “traditional art”.). The first thing which I am noticing is that I’m far more careful in selecting the colours. You can’t just wipe the colours off like you can with photoshop. The other thing is that it is a nice feeling of doing something with your hands, one stroke after the other. Painting even has a kind of zen-like quality- soothing and relaxing. I don’t feel like that when I am painting digitally. But both ways to paint have something in common: They take me away from reality. I can spend hours without noticing how the time rushed away!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

