Tulip painted with Markers

tulip-markers

Up to a few days ago I had watched all those videos about blending with markers thinking that I am too dumb to put that into practice. I had tried it and failed. Then, last Saturday, I fetched one of the sheets I’d been given as a present and began to paint the tulip (I’d done a ballpoint sketch of this tulip before). It is a very smooth paper, not too thin. I did the lines first, let them dry (takes a bit of a time with this kind of paper), and then grabbed my markers. Whoaa! Suddenly, blending was possible! The dark red in the middle of the tulip was done by first laying down a warm grey and then adding red.

I also noticed the difference between the brush tip and the round tip. With the brush tip of the marker you can lay down the paint like you can with a real brush, whereas the round tip is useful for making marks. Fortunately I’ve still got a lot of these smooth sheets of paper left. And I’m so glad that my friend and colleague Matthias gave those sheets to me!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Tulip painted with Markers”

  1. karencomics says :

    Wow! I love the vibrant colour! It looks very painterly with the brushstrokes showing in some places and blended in others.

Leave a Reply

