It’s markers again!

The dragon snake. Layout markers on paper. May 2014

Did I tell you about my self-made light table? Some weeks ago I bought a glass pane for about 5 Euro, planning to put it between to big boxes from IKEA. Up to the weekend that glass plane hadn’t been used, but suddenly I felt that I had to to it. I took one of my quick and rough ballpoint sketches and a piece of very smooth paper which I also had been given a month or so.

I had to sit down on the floor in order to use the “light table”, but that wasn’t the problem. The problem was the smoothness of the paper, and I had to be very, very careful with my ink pen to prevent smudges. Then I grabbed my markers. Blending on the smooth paper was done quite easily, but I had been to impatient to colour – some of my ink lines blended with the copic markers!

However, I learnt a great deal about the importance of the paper for the way the copics and the other markers performed. The colours are much more vivid on a smooth paper, and now I know that you can blend them.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “It’s markers again!”

  1. karencomics says :

    Beautiful little dragon snake, so vibrant. Interesting about the paper — I’ll have to try that with the markers I’m using. You’ve got be longing for some Copics — preferably the whole incredible set!

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Thank you, Karen! Maybe try the Shin Han Touch Markers – they’ve got a colour range of 204 colours, have brush tips and round tips and are a bit less expensive.I have to try them, too and write about my experience with them.

Leave a Reply

