Offering a bowl of milk – finished version

Offering the milk. Pen and ink drawing, coloured in Photoshop.

Calling a digital painting finished is quite a difficult thing, at least for me. Knowing that colours and the lettering could be changed  I am looking at the panel, asking myself  “are these the proper words? the proper font? The proper font-size, does the colour combination work?”

On the other hand, there is so much to do yet. I have the next scene in mind, where the robbers are attacking the village, stealing the little what the village posesses. I want to paint an atmosphere of brutality on one side, and helplessness on the other, seen through the eyes of the cats. Maybe there has to be shown some action – that’s why I am doing sketches of fighting men. On the other hand – eyes wide open in fear say something about feeling helpless as well, and I wonder whether the drawing of a clenched fist may convey brutality also. I’ve seen some of Hitchcock’s films, and often he doesn’t show brutality and violence to a full extent. Nevertheless we see and feel it.

So there are some decisions to make. That’s the disadvantage when you have the freedom of illustrating your own story!

 

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

