Yawning Cat – coloured Cartoon

Cat Cartoon. Coloured with markers and coloured pencils, April 2014

I am afraid this is the most unprofessional way to do it. I got the ideas of a story, which you can read here. Instead of doing thumbnails which cover the whole story and not only a part of it, I am focussing on the cat council, which discusses whether and how the cats should help their human friends. It seems that I’m in love with my cat characters and have a pretty good image of them: They take pride in their strength and wildness, and look upon their human friends as weak beings.

Compared with that the images of the humans in this story are rather vague. Okay, they’re poor, and they live in a village. They know that the cats are useful for them because they hunt rats and mice, and so they offer them an occasional bowl of milk. They are not allowed to carry weapons because that is only something the nobility can do. So they can’t defend themselves against the robbers. I haven’t answered one question yet, however: who are the heroes? the humans or the cats? Is it a cat story, in which humans exist in order to provide a problem which the cats have to solve? And in which way does the end of the story change the relationship between cats and humans? So many questions!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

