Yawning Cat

Yawning Cat. Ballpoint pen, March 2014

This is another quick sketch – I think I didn’t need more than 10 minutes, the search for this image included. I was looking for cats, because I had that story about the guardian cats in mind (you can read a short version of this story here.) I have an illustration in mind which shows the cats meeting in the forest and talking about how to help their human friends. I definitely can see one of the cats yawning, looking a wee bit bored.

I already did a bigger version of the yawning cat and imagined myself tracing it onto good paper standing at the window once again. I more and more wanted to have a lightbox to transfer my drawings to the final paper. Those lightboxes or lighttables are quite expensive, so I asked around whether someone would know of a used one. One of my colleagues I was eating lunch with told me of a simple solution – a glass pane put on something with a lamp under it.

Today I brought some old books to the nearby charity institution and strolled through the rooms not really expecting to find something I could use for a light table. However, I found a glass pane and paid 4 Euros for it. Back at home I pulled out two of my IKEA KASSETT boxes and put the glass pane on them. Then I fetched a lamp which I still had but not really need  and put it under the glass. Voilà! The lighttable! I have to sit on the floor for tracing, so it is not super comfortable, but it is much better than standing up, and I am not depending on daylight.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. New cat cartoon | Ulla Hennig's Weblog - April 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

