The Cat on the Hill

Cat on the Hill. Coloured pencils and markers on watercolour paper. March 20142

I got a ceramic cat standing on one of my shelves, and I thought “why not use it as a kind of model for a quick sketch”. Then the cat was on the paper, asking to be placed somewhere in an illustration, to become part of a story.

But what kind of story would that be? It took some days till I had this idea of a cat sitting on a hill as a sort of watch-person /creature, with some houses – or a fort – behind it.

I also wanted to continue playing with the combination of coloured pencils and markers. You can use coloured pencils on markers to do a bit of shading; you can use markers on coloured pencils to change the hue of the colour. You can also put on second layer of the same marker colour in order to shade. So many possibilities – so much fun!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

