Butterfly – Work in progress

Butterfly – work in progress.

This is a mixed media piece in the full meaning of the word: For the darker leaf I used markers only (copics and delta markers – the latter are produced by a German company called “Rotbart”.), the lighter green leaf has been painted first with markers and then been shaded with coloured pencils. For the background I used coloured pencils first and then went over these coloured pencils with markers in various shades of green. Those markers are filled with inks containing alcohol, and so you can use them to blend the pigments of the coloured pencils. The butterfly up to now is painted with markers. I used the smoother side of rough watercolour paper.

The butterfly itself is based on a quick and dirty pencil sketch. I put transparent paper on top of the sketch and refined the drawing with a pigment fineliner. In a third step I used my window pane as a light table and transferred the butterfly to the watercolour paper. I then arranged the two leaves around the butterfly, drawing directly on the watercolour paper.

I then coloured the background first, using various shades of green with my coloured pencils and various shades of green with my markers. I wanted to create a kind of abstract background serving as a contrast to the clean shapes of the leaves and the butterfly.

The effect you get when you blend coloured pencils with alcoholic markers is similar to the effect you get when you use watercolour pencils on a wet surface. However the advantage is that your paper doesn’t get wet and bumpy.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

