Surreal Landscape

Surreal landscape. Acrylics on watercolour paper, Ulla Hennig December 2013

I had no specific reference in mind when I did this. What I had in mind, though, was the notion of contrast. Contrast between the complimentary colours of red and green, contrast between the dried out brown earth with the dead trees and the rich green in front of an angry red sky.

I learnt three things when I did this acrylic painting:

  • Definitely leave the watercolour paper on the pad until you have finished the painting. The sheets of my watercolour paper pad are not very thick, so they easily crumple when paint is applied.
  • I used masking paper for the first time to get clean lines. Actually it was the kind of paper you roll around parcels, but it worked quite nicely.
  • Those PITT Artists brush pens can be used on top of dry acrylic paint in order to do some details (like the trees for example).
Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Surreal Landscape”

  1. Tim Jones says :

    Love the art keep it up.

Leave a Reply

