Flying Dragon – revisited

Flying Dragon revisited. Digital painting done with Artrage. May 2013

Working on that piece really taught me an important lesson:

  1. Do not rush with lineart. In this case I definitely was too fast with my lineart which resulted in a piece which was “quick and dirty”. Whenever I want to try something out I tend to rush myself, focusing on a new method (“I want to see whether this will work if I do it this way”).
    Fortunately I’d put the drawing on a separate layer, so I could change it, but I had to change the colouring as well.
  2. Do not give up too early. Well, there was a time when I was considering throwing the whole piece into the trashcan. But I’m not only an impatient person, I’m also a person who doesn’t want to give up. So I made the neck longer, I thought about the light source, I worked on the background. It is still not a masterpiece, but it looks better than the first version does!
Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

