Back to the good old colour chart

colours

Colour chart with various green shades.

Some coloured pencil experts stress the importance of putting up colour charts. I must admit that I haven’t done many, but sometimes I do. Here is the one I did yesterday. I am working on a coloured pencil piece with a background in various shades of green. I have been using baby oil as a kind of solvent in my last paintings, and doing this I noticed that the colours get more vibrant this way and even change a bit.

Knowing this I wanted to test the effect in order to select the proper pencil. I used emerald green, juniper green and chromoxide green as the basic greens and added my other greens. I was surprised what a nice green I got using the emerald green and other greens – in the past I hadn’t used emerald green because of its unnatural look.

So now I now, and I am glad that this colour chart will help me doing the background.

 

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

