Sunset behind the Wall

Sunset behind the wall

Sunset behind the wall. Acrylics on watercolour paper. Ulla Hennig November 2012

Sometimes you plan to do something and you end up with something totally different. Originally my plan was to try out how to darken vermillion by adding black. You can see the original vermillion in the upper lefthand corner. I ended up with a very dark brownish red. Not the colour I wanted at all. So I added white. Interesting. More and more my painting reminded me of a stone wall. But the stone wall needed some structure – so I added some black to some white and went over the first layer. I also put a bit of that greyish colour over the vermillion red. Now it looked like a sunset with grey clouds to me. And here I stopped…

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

