Blue and Magenta

Blue and Magenta

Blue and Magenta. Gouache paints on watercolour paper. Ulla Hennig October 2012

Yesterday I went into my favourite art shop and bought two tubes of Nerchau tempera paints. Before doing that I’d done some research about the difference between “Tempera” and “gouache”. Obviously there is almost no difference. Both are opaque watersoluble paints.

Fact is that I’ve got that set of Reeves Gouache paints with 12 tubes, and magenta unfortunately is not among them. Of course magenta can be mixed with red and blue. However it might be difficult to mix the same colour hue if you want some space covered. (Or to put it honestly: it is still difficult for me!)

Now of course you can find single gouache tubes from Schmincke. Schmincke is a very known paint manufacturer for artists, and the tubes sell for 4 Euros upward. Not that I say I won’t ever buy a Schmincke gouache tube. In a few months time I might. But now, for the present, I prefer to use paints for playing around, with the risk of no result whatsoever – with the exception of an empty tube.

So, without further ado, I bought two tubes Nerchau tempera, one magenta and the other one English red, and I had to try the magenta. There was left some blue on my palette from the last painting, together with some white, and with some playful mixing of these colours I got the result which you can see above.

By the way: I didn’t mention it in the posts before, but your comments and critique are highly welcomed and appreciated!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

