Tree spirit

Tree spirit. Reeves Gouache paints on Watercolour paper. Ulla Hennig October 2012

Some weeks ago I bought Linda Ravenscroft’s book “How to draw and paint Fairyland” (the German version). I found the painting of a tree spirit on one of the pages of the book and felt like painting one, too. Her version is much cuter, more like an illustration in a children’s book, though.

I did a rough sketch with a pencil and then taped the paper on a board. Then I put it aside for the next day. The drawing was looking at me when I had my breakfast the next morning, and it made me really keen on putting paint on it when I returned from work.

Being a newbie to Gouache painting it was a real challenge for me to get the various shades of brown and green. I also still struggled with the amount of water and paint on the brush, but I had the impression that – slowly – I was getting a feeling for it.

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

