Creatures of the Night

Creatures of the night. Reeves gouache paints on watercolour paper. Ulla Hennig October 2012

Some days ago I discovered the medium gouache and I love it! Gouache paints are opaque, but they are water soluble which means that brushes and palette can be easily cleaned.

I found a set of 12 tubes (Reeves) for a very reasonable prize and had to try them out. I only used red and blue in this painting, and got various purple colours mixed with them. You can mix them on the palette of course, but you can also blend them on the paper by going over them with a wet brush.

The interesting thing is that they look lighter when they are dry, so you have to take that into consideration when you apply the paint.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

