Variations in Purple

Purple flower #2. Markers and coloured pencils. Ulla Hennig July 2012

I definitely love the colour purple. In this drawing I used three markers with three different shades of this colour, and I also used magenta and violet with coloured pencils.

For me purple means energy and an intensive joy of  life. There are so many purple flowers (although I think that there are no purple roses) in summer. When I did the drawing I again had no special flower in mind – however I would be happy to learn that it has some similarity to an existing one.

This time I used pastel paper – I had some left and wanted to know how it would react to the markers.   I noticed a bit of bleeding here and there (thanks to photoshop you don’t see it anymore) but otherwise there was no problem. I am thinking about trying markers on some scraps of some smoother watercolour paper and then experiment with coloured pencils on top of them.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A Floral Design « Ulla Hennig's Weblog - July 16, 2012

Leave a comment