Green leaves

Shades of green

Leaves is a subject which I like to draw and paint. Therefore it is important for me to know which of my markers to use and which of my coloured pencils in order to get a certain shade of green. Nile green, Forest green and Spectrum Green are names of my copic ciaos; the other colours are my pencils colours – either coloured pencils or watercolour pencils. I use Polychromos and Albrecht Durer made by Faber-Castell, and I am very satisfied with them.

I am also enjoying my copic markers, but they are not the cheapest markers you can get. I found out that there is a marker brand called “Delta markers” made by a German company called Rotbart. They are not refillable (yet), and they only come in 80 colours. But combining markers and coloured pencils make it possible for me to create additional colours.

I use the Delta colourless blender marker from Rotbart to do the shading and blending, but in addition to that I went to the drugstore and bought a small bottle of Isopropanol alcohol which I apply with a q-tip. I’ve also seen people applying the alcohol with a stump – I’ll try that, too.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

