Another Dragon

Green Dragon

Green and red dragon. Copic markers on Drawing paper. Ulla Hennig, May 2012

Yes, it is another dragon. I must admit that I am deeply fascinated by these creatures. In Germany we have a lot of folk tales describing dragons as evil creatures, which threaten to destroy villages and kill innocent people until some young prince / knight appears on the scene and manages to do away with the monster.

But there are also the Eragon books in which dragons and their riders play an important part in the fight against evil; and there is also an author called Anne McCaffrey who is famous for her “Dragonsriders of Pern” books. In these Pern Sagas dragons help their human friends to fight against a biological enemy by burning it with their flames.

In the painting above I decided to put the painting on a background made in Photoshop. Doing it this way I not only saved ink but also could play around with the background colour.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

