Shades of Brown

Colour swatch based on burnt siena.

When you ask people “which colour has the trunk of a tree?” most of them would answer “brown”. Actually it is not brown. It is grey with a bit of brown in it. It may be greenish brown because of the moss growing on one side of the tree. The colour would depend on the light, on the daytime, on the season.

Noticing the proper colours of a tree is one thing; re-creating it with colour pencils is the other. I created that swatch on the same paper which I use for my coloured pencils’ drawings. Whenever I want to produce a certain colour I now can look at this swatch – it tells me which pencils to use. Of course it can be – and should be – more detailed than the one you see. I will work on it.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

