Colour studies

Colour studies, done with coloured pencils and watercolour pencils (dry).

My next coloured pencils drawing will be a flying pelican. In order to get the colours right I thought it might be sensible to do some colour studies – especially in order to get the proper values. As everybody knows, pelicans are pink, but when I took a closer look at the reference photo I noticed that a lot of other colours were in it, too.

There is a bit of difference between the colours on the paper (it is sketchpad paper, 115 g on the square meter) and the colours here on the scanned image. They look a bit more intensive and stronger here on the screen.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Colour studies”

  1. cavepainter says :

    These colors look like they’re working well together. Even though the colors on the screen are different from real life, I like how light flesh combines with dark cadmium orange and medium flesh. Shouldn’t there be some darks too? I like prussian blue.

Leave a Reply

