Creating new Shapes

Photoshop Shapes.

I must admit – I’m a bit proud of myself. Photoshop has got loads of shapes, and there are also loads and loads of shapes on the net which you can download for free. But I wanted to be able to make my own shapes, and so I spent the whole morning trying to do that. It took me some hours and some time watching various tutorials on YouTube, and then I knew how to do it. Of course, the hearts which you can see above, are original photoshop shapes. But the flowers aren’t – they are my first shapes.

I did the flower in Inkscape, because in Inkscape you can use the pen tool far easier than you (at least me) can do it in Photoshop. But then there is one problem: how to get them from Inkscape into Photoshop? With Illustrator and photoshop it is very easy: You just copy and past the shape. But Photoshop does not do that with Inkscape. Grrr! What to do?

After some hours of trail and error and watching YouTube tutorials I was successful. In case anybody of you is interested in the way of doing it, here is the solution:

  1. Open the inkscape file. Save it as eps.
  2. Open a new photoshop file. Place the eps.
  3. Take the magic eraser and delete all white space.
  4. Select the item which you want to become a shape.
  5. Colour it black.
  6. Go to paths and click “create work path”
  7. Save as shape.
  8. That’s it!

 

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Creating new Shapes”

  1. crazykittykat1 says :

    I may try inkscape, haven’t yet. I d/l gimp and got a bunch of junk on my computer….grrrr. I like your idea of making your own shapes. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

