Trees talking to each other

Trees talking to each other. Watercolour painting, December 2011

For a long time watercolours and me weren’t good friends. Or, to say it clearer: I was afraid of them, afraid of not being able to “control” them. Somehow however I changed my mind a bit during the last weeks, and this resulted in buying a nice little Schmincke watercolour set with pans.

And then yesterday, I suddenly felt the desire to try them out. I had no image in my mind and thus no pencil sketch. I just dipped my brush into the colour brown and drew it across the paper, being curious where all this might end. Then there was a tree, and it definitely looked lonesome, so I added another one and tried to make them look like talking to each other.

For three quarters of an hour I disappeared into the world of watercolours, listening to the radio, but also not listening. I felt a deep sense of suspense and relaxation at the same time. And I definitely will continue to explore this foreign world and make it my own!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

