Fantasy landscape with pen and ink

Fantasy landscape. Ulla Hennig November 2011

The story of this drawing is quite a funny one. One evening I sat down at the table in my living room and began to draw. I had been watching a film on tv with commercials, and I was bored with watching the commercials. So I took out one of my fine liners from Staedtler and began to draw a building. I had no special building in mind – I just wanted to practise creating differing shades by hatching. Then the film continued and I stopped drawing.

The next morning I looked at what I had drawn, with my tea mug in one hand. The drawing was kind of calling me to continue – which I did. But I had to leave for work, so there was another break. However when I returned from work I worked on it again, adding the landscape.

I think it took me three days to get it into a state which I could call “finished”. Now, that I am looking at it again, I think it could need some additional strokes here and there – but it is as it is…

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

