Mounting Horse

Mounting Horse

Mounting Horse. Pencil drawing. Ulla Hennig, November 2011

At the beginning of November I discovered the website Drawing Tutorials Online. At first I was a bit reluctant to register, but then I decided to allow myself to have a one year subscription for the price of about 100 Euros and registered. Everything went smoothly, and on the same day I browsed through the site. There’s a ton of useful video tutorials on the site, and a lot of very helpful pdfs. In addition to that there is a critique gallery where you can upload your pieces to, and some days later you have them criticized by Matt Archambault, the owner of the site.

It is a bit like going to art school and I am learning new things everyday. The horse above is based on a photo of one of the horse sculptures of Degas. I think something with the neck and the head is not right, but I don’t know exactly what. I uploaded it to the Critique gallery as well, and now I am waiting for Matthew’s critique.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

